Ed Hardy

Who are you and where are you from?
 
Ed Hardy is my name and I was born and raised in Regina Saskatchewan. I moved here to Yellowknife in 1987 with then my fiancé and now wife have and since then spent the other half of my life here.  I can say the north has been my home but I do miss the prairies.
 
Image
 
How did you first get into Photography?  
 
We had various family cameras from instant to 110 film, played around with those after taking a photography lab class in grade 9 but that was short lived.
 
It was only here in the north with the advent of the Internet which lead me to building web pages that I needed to supply my own images.  I received the Sony Floppy Disk Camera for Christmas in 1989 and that was it, I was hooked.
 
What is it about photography that keeps you taking pictures?
 
I have always been a visual type person and forever have be reading or more so looking at library books with pictures and photos so I’m always inspired by books, movies, Internet and my surrounding and this peaks and stirs my creatively to get out and capture and or design a photo.
 
Image
 
What are your photographic inspirations?
 
As mentioned above, photo books, but also the people in this group and their creativity, thoughts, processes and vision. 
 
Do you have any favorite advice that you’ve received? 
 
Yes, in the advent of the digital age, shoot lots, film is free
 
If money was no object, where or what would you most like to photograph?
 
I love street photography, seeing New York, London, and other big busy and bustling city centers would be fun, and if money was no problems, I would shoot with a lomo and Dianne cameras and other toy film cameras to get that wait and see image, light leaks, dreamy soft focus and other surprise that these types of cameras produce. 
 
Image
 
Do you have any favorite pieces of equipment that you own currently?
 
Yes, my iPhone 4, love it as it is always with me, shoot, edit, share instantly.
 
Is there a piece of equipment you need to complete your kit?
 
Yes, the iPhone 5S and the 90 degree lens (hiLo Lens) attachment to allow for     inconspicuous and more intimate street and candid photography. 
 
What advise do you have for us?
 
A photo that sits in a shoe box or hard drive or memory stick services no purpose, as it needs to be shared and viewed by others to live its purpose.
 
Where can people see more of your photography?
 
In a few separate places I have online
 
 
My Instagram page under ARCTICHEAT  
 
And or my Facebook photo album page under Edward Hardy

Leave a comment