Jared Monkman

Who are you and where are you from?

My name is Jared Monkman, and I am born and raised in Hay River.  I studied music in grande Prairie, and lived in calgary, but Hay RIver has always drawn me back.

 

How did you first get into Photography? 

I bought my first camera when I was recovering from pituitary gland tumour surgery two years ago.  I don’t remember why i decided to buy it, but I’m glad I did.  Because of the tumour and subsequent surgeries, I have limited vision: I see double, and I have no peripheral viseion.  So it took a long time to get used to seeing through the view finder.  At first, my pictures were bad, and it quickly became apparent that I wasn’t okay with my crappy pictures, but I loved the idea of photography: I scourged the internet for resources, and in this day and age there are is no shortage of quality, free, information!  There are also some great photographers in Hay River; Adam Hill, Isaac Hilman, and David Johnson, who gave me a lot of great advice along the way.

 

Image

 

What is it about photography that keeps you taking pictures?

The fact that I decided to go full time at it and now I have to or I’ll go broke lol.  But really, I just love it.  I love photographing all different kinds of people.  I love that I get to meet so many different kinds of people.  I was a shy kid growing up, and photography is a great way to instantly connect with people.  

I remember how much I hated having my picture taken as a kid, but I realize now how valuable pictures are.  They’re such an important part of our lives, and I love that I get to capture moments of peoples lives, for a living!  

 

What are your photographic inspirations?

People.  I love photographing people.  I love expressions, and feeling, and mood.  I love black and white.

 Dave Brosha is very inspiring; he works so hard at what he does, and he loves it.  Adam Hill has always been an inspiration.  Then of course, there’s David Hobby at the strobist website.  I literally learned everything I know about lighting from his site.  

 

 

 Image

Do you have any favorite advice that you’ve received? 

I can’t remember where the advice came from, but I’m sure many different people have said it.  Inspiration doesn’t appear out of no where; it’s born out of work.  I had heard this many many times when I was first starting out, and part of me probably didn’t believe it, but I’m a firm believer in it now.  Any time I’ve felt down or uninspired, is during a time when I’m not working as hard at it, or not doing as much creatively.  Getting out there and shooting, and trying different kinds of photography, is so important.  

 

If money was no object, where or what would you most like to photograph?

Further north.  I’m kind of ashamed to admit, as a lifelong northerner, but I’ve never travelled anywhere further north than Yellowknife.  I’d love to see Pangurteung, Iqaluit, etc.  I’d also love to see any of the great deserts in the world.  Something so unique, but at the same time so similar to the north.

 

Image

 

Do you have any favorite pieces of equipment that you own currently?

Hard to say; at any given time during the day I either love or hate any given piece of equipment equally lol.  Guess I’ll say the 5dmkiii.  That thing is a workhorse: it’s yet to let me down.  (knocks on wood)

 

Is there a piece of equipment you need to complete your kit?

A 24-70.  I use the 24-105, and it’s good enough, but it’s got it’s shortcomings, and the longer I use that lens, the more apparent they become.  Although, it’s great for video.

I’d also like a couple more einsteins, and a few more soft boxes…   any one giving away any??

 

What advise do you have for us?

Don’t beat yourself up over things.  You’re your own worst enemy and critic.  No one else thinks as hard about what you do, as you do.  

Don’t measure other peoples success against your own.  Everyone takes a different path.  

Love what you do, and it will show.

 

Where can people see more of your photography?

At my website, monkmanphotography.com

On flickr at  http://www.flickr.com/photos/jerdney/

On facebook at Monkman Photography

Leave a comment